Early Spring Catchup

The sun is shining, the windows are open, and pretty soon I’m going to go find a patio and a beer. But first, I want to do a little spring cleaning in my head, and write a short catchup of some of the highlights of my winter. The winter that, in my mind, was never quite welcome to begin with, and has now far outstayed its welcome. I think there are still a few cool, breezy weeks left to endure, but today, spring is just starting to tease us.

daffodils

This winter was marked by many busy days, a handful of workshops and conferences, a decent amount of travel, and more than one struggle with running.

Image

A view of the Potomac, looking from Arlington towards DC during a meeting

My first race of 2013 was an impromptu decision to join a friend for 5 miles of trail running.

Wakefield Park

Wakefield Park

I had never done any trail running, and I had no idea what to expect. I pictured slogging through streams knee-deep and crawling up steep single-track switchbacks. This was easier and more fun than that image, although I certainly wouldn’t call it “easy” overall. But dashing through the woods, hopping over logs and creeks, and taking in the scenery was certainly a refreshing change of pace.

Running in the winter is just not my thing. The cold, the dark, the layers – ugh. More than once I said that I would not sign up for the Rock N Roll USA Half-Marathon next year, so I would not feel pressured again to train all winter.Image

And then I ran this, my seventh half-marathon, and it was a perfect day, and my hip didn’t hurt, and I didn’t have to stop and walk or stretch, and I got a (small) PR, and I had brunch with friends who did the full marathon, and I decided that next year, I would run the full, too. Never underestimate the persuasion power of one good run.

Earlier this week, I found myself in Salt Lake City for a work thing. It’s the third time in as many years that I have been there for a work thing, so I didn’t take a single photo of the mountains. I did, however, document one of the excellent craft beers I consumed.

Image

As well as the comical Inferno Cantina bar that a group of us ended up in. Nothing says bizarre like a round of margaritas in an overly-themed bar in the shadows of the LDS Temple.Image

And then, I registered for the Marine Corps Marathon.

Image

After last fall’s injury forced me to sit this race out, I am so determined to run (and finish) this race this year. I can’t wait for the early morning hot summer training runs to start.

3 thoughts on “Early Spring Catchup

  1. Pingback: Navy Air Force Half-Marathon Race Recap | Kathy Q. Runs

  2. Pingback: Post-Marathon Trail Race | Kathy Q. Runs

  3. Pingback: Running and Yoga | Kathy Q. Runs

Leave a Reply

