Late Spring Catchup

I’m hoping to get back into a more regular blogging routine. I like doing it, but I get overwhelmed when too much time has gone by. Here are some of the highlights of the second half of spring:

In early April, I ran the Cherry Blossom 10-Mile Race for the third time in as many years. I love this race, a classic rite of spring. It was a relatively warm day and I ran the first half with a faster friend, then slowed down and ran on my own for the second half. I PRed, but not by much, and I ended the race feeling good about my effort, but wishing I was faster, that it was more effortless to be fast. I am glad to be taking a break from scheduled races until the fall. In the mean time, I am still running about 4 days/week to maintain and build my base for marathon training, plus I am trying to go to yoga and/or pilates pretty regularly. I also finally tried my first spin class, and I love it. I’ve been going at least once a week and I love having a new challenge.

I was traveling a bunch of weekends this spring. Many of those trips were to visit family, and on two occasions family visited us. It is fun to hang out with my siblings/siblings-in-law as adults, and to get a window into their lives/show them a window into ours. Read this Frank Bruni column about siblings if you haven’t already.

One of my trips was to Greenville, South Carolina. What an amazing, idyllic little place. The community has invested heavily in its downtown and in creating great places. I was there for a week and was thoroughly impressed. Who knew?

20130602-124703.jpg Falls Park, Greenville, SC

20130527-070241.jpg Swamp Rabbit Trail in Greenville. I went running along here twice in the early morning, and was on a bike tour of the city that went along here. Gorgeous.

Another weekend trip with to Blowing Rock, North Carolina. Andy and I stayed with his family in a place in the mountains. There were gorgeous views of the Appalachians, and we did a hike to some waterfalls. It was a really fun and relaxing getaway.20130527-070120.jpg

20130527-070143.jpg

I went for a run on the hilly roads around the house we stayed in, and it was awesome. Flying on the downhills was so much fun, but my quads were screamiing for two days after.20130527-070158.jpg

We have had a major heat wave in DC this week, which has been a bit much to handle, but I couldn’t be happier that summer is finally, finally here. I am thrilled to be able to go to the farmer’s market again and stock up on fresh asparagus and late spring strawberries.

20130527-070040.jpg

Last weekend, we had a relaxing long weekend at home. After all the traveling we’ve been doing – with lots more on the way – it was wonderful to have three days at home. We checked out the District Tea Lodge, a newly opened cafe adjacent to my favorite yoga studio (Yoga District). It serves homemade kombucha on tap: fabulous.

20130527-190536.jpg

And today, we went to the USA v Germany soccer match here in DC.

20130602-182702.jpg

Upcoming summer trips trips include Orlando and Memphis (one for a wedding, one for a work thing), and then Turkey and France at the end of the month! We are going to Turkey for a wedding and decided to make a longer trip out of it. I am beside myself with excitement!

Leave a Reply

