New York City and New Orleans

As I mentioned in my last post, I traveled a bit more in the US this summer before moving to London in July.  I went to Philadelphia and New Jersey to see friends and family, and New York City and New Orleans for work.  I love all of those places for different reasons.

First, Philadelphia.  I spent two years there for grad school and it wasn’t long enough.  I don’t know if I will ever live there again, but I loved the time I did spend there.  Philly has such great neighborhood pride and a down-to-earth quality that DC and NYC lack.IMG_5459 But New York is just so cool.  I could not stop being happy the entire time I was there.  I went up really early on a Sunday morning train so I could have the full day to enjoy in the city before meetings started on Monday.  I checked into the Ace Hotel (ridiculously cool) and within minutes I was on a Citi Bike, riding downtown through empty streets.nyc1I cycled to Chinatown, then walked across the Brooklyn Bridge and wandered around the waterfront park.  It was a beautiful day and I was thrilled just to be there.nyc2

nyc3

Later I watched the USA – Portugal match on a big screen in Madison Square Park (ugh, so sad at the end) and wandered the city more.

nyc4

nyc5

nyc8I ran the next two mornings, once in Central Park and once along the waterfront, and was overjoyed.  nyc6

nyc9

I also got an excellent NYC bagel each morning.  Love.

nyc7I’ll definitely be back.  I can’t imagine life without New York.       IMG_5668My next work trip was a week in New Orleans.  I didn’t have much in the way of free time, but I did make time to run every morning, mostly in the Garden District and a bit in the French Quarter.  New Orleans is not my favorite city, but I do love that it has a distinctive history and culture, and how that is reflected in the architecture.  There is no place else in the world quite like it.

IMG_5683 IMG_5687 IMG_5695 IMG_5693 IMG_5713 IMG_5719

Up next: my final weeks in DC and my first days in London.

 

Leave a Reply

